Current & Previous Recipients

The Gold Standard of Optimal Aging celebrates older adults over age 85 celebrates and honors older adults who embody the Institute’s vision for a world where all older adults lead engaged and flourishing lives. These individuals are recognize by their community as outstanding models of optimal aging in the following areas: physical, social, spiritual, and creative. 

Previous Recipients: 2014   2016  2017  2018  2019

Current Recipients: 2020 

Bettye Albritton
Pearline Allen
Mary Alvey
Roy Barnes
Rosalle Battcher
Anna Beasley
Wendell Berry
Tom Briggs
Arnold Brouillard

Charles Brown
Mary Brown
Mary Margaret Caster
George Clark
Marie Clay
James "Father Jim" Flynn
Rev. Robert B. Gray
Mattie Jones
Helen McMillen

June McNally
Julie Metzler
Nyirakamana Mukashyaka
Elayne Roose, PsyD
Evelyn Siemens
Pupsa Lal Subedi
Chandra Wakhley
Mary Wright

2020 Honoree Bios 

2019 UofL Trager Institute Gold Standard of Optimal Aging Recognition Luncheon

Many thanks to our Champion Sponsor!