Current & Previous Recipients

The Gold Standard of Optimal Aging celebrates older adults over age 85 celebrates and honors older adults who embody the Institute’s vision for a world where all older adults lead engaged and flourishing lives. These individuals are recognize by their community as outstanding models of optimal aging in the following areas: physical, social, spiritual, and creative. 

Previous Recipients: 2014   2016  2017  2018  2019

Current Recipients: 2019 

Walter Badenhausen, MD
Barbara Bard
Kathleen Barker 
Jim & Olga Booher 
Arthur Boone 
Ron Britain 
Robert Bruckert 
Tom Burch 
Davalene Burch 
Marie Clark 
Helen Clark 
Marjorie Cox 
Charles Crenshaw
Martha Dawson 
Guy Dorsey
Carolyn Downs  
James Duggins
John Eckert 
Ursula Eckstein 
Paula Fargen 
John Fuchs 
Easter “Faye” Grant

Bill Greenwell 
Katharine Griswold 
Anita Hinkle 
Billy Keith 
Mildred Killmeier 
Mildred Lee 
Margaret & Francis Lori 
Robert Maupin, Sr.
Barbara McKay
Bonnie Metcalf 
Thomas Mituzo 
Oswaldo Molestina 
John Moore 
Jeanne Mueller 
David & Carolyn Neustadt 
Therese Nyambuyeyi  
Norman O’Grady 
Margaret Reed 
Georgia Reis 
Jean Sandman 
Marian Sanford
Helen Schmitt

Georgetta Smith 
Wanda Smith 
Betty Smith
Charles Smith 
Peg Snyder 
Lewis Sorenson 
Mary Stultz 
Betty Thompson 
Jim Thornton
Mary Thornton 
Viola Tillman 
Stuart Urbach, MD 
Patricia Walker
Rebecca Wathen  
Morris Weiss, MD
William (Bill) Weller 
Rose Ann Williams  
Irene Winner 
Jack Wright, MD 
Bette Zeller 
Joan Zink 

2019 Honoree Bios 

2019 UofL Trager Institute Gold Standard of Optimal Aging Recognition Luncheon

Many thanks to our Champion Sponsor!